OUCH(UK) Organisation for the Understanding of Cluster Headache



01646 651 979

overseas +44 1646 651 979

Trustees & Officers


Professor Peter Goadsby

Patron of OUCH (UK).  World authority on cluster headache and is chair of the IHS classification group.  Currently conducting research at Kings College Hospital into use of CGRP [calcitonin gene related peptides] for the prevention of cluster headache.

Colin Allen (Vice Chairman)

Colin is an Episodic Sufferer. His long service in the charity as Helpline Manager and now as Vice Chairman, brings considerable knowledge to the board. Colin is 'retired' and lives in Liverpool. 

Andrya Barnett (Treasurer)

Andrya is a Chronic Sufferer and has been an officer of OUCH (UK) since 2010 volunteering on our helpline, She brings valuable experience in finance to her role as treasurer.

Dorothy Chapman

Dorothy has been an episodic sufferer for more years than a lady should admit to.  Dot and her family are great fundraisers for OUCH(UK) and the whole family are great supporters of the charity.  

Scott Bruce 

Scott is an episodic sufferer, based in Scotland. He has been a member since 2003 and joined the helpline team in 2007. In 2014 he accepted a trustee position and coordinates many of the regional meetings that the charity puts together. 

Elizabeth Kelly

Liz is the charity's Helpline Manager.  Liz joined OUCH in 2006 and has worked as a volunteer on the helpline since 2007 Liz has helped hundreds of people during that time and she brings considerable experience to the role.

Sandra McDowell

Sandra is a supporter to her husband Andy who for several years was our helpline supervisor.  Sandra herself has been a volunteer on the helpline for a number of years and has helped hundreds of callers to the helpline.  She has also done and organised several fundraising events for OUCH.  

The Charlton Family

OUCH (UK) owes a great deal to the Charlton Family and to Les in particular. Les, a former chairman of OUCH and a CH sufferer, who died in 2011 was a staunch supporter of OUCH and brought judgement, empathy and understanding to his role as Chairman. He guided the charity through some difficult times and made OUCH the respected charity and expert patient group that it is today. Joan, his wife, was our membership secretary and another staunch supporter of OUCH, attending OUCH events, helping with organisation and sending out our information packs and Chit Chat magazines. Daughter Karen produced and edited our Chit Chat magazine when it was in hard copy. More importantly over the ten years from 2002 to 2012, Karen organised Team OUCH in the annual London 10k, and through her unstinting efforts raised over £50,000 for the charity. OUCH would not be where it is today without the Charlton family. thank you, Karen and Joan.DSS



All the present Officers, are sufferers or supporters of sufferers and provide full support and help to the trustees, sufferers and their families.

Val Hobbs (Admin and Helpline Supervisor)

Sandra McDowell (Helpline)

Emma Jones (Helpline)

Linda Duddy (Helpline)

Jason Clark (Employment Advice)

Anne Turner (Supporter, Meetings)


Honorary Life Members:

Professor Anne MacGregor MB, BS, MD, MFSRH, MICR, DIPM, Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer at the Research Centre for Neuroscience within the Institute of Cell and Molecular Science, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, University of London.

Dr Juana Marin, Research Fellow to Professor Peter Goadsby, Royal Free Hospital, London

Dr Alex Nesbit, BM Bch MA MRCP (UK), Surrey Sleep Research Centre, University of Surrey



All cluster headache sufferers in the UK must give thanks to Mr Simon Bower for founding the original UKCH website. This enabled UK cluster sufferers to first come together and share experiences with one another. Through this medium a small group of like minded people decided that they wanted to do more for UK sufferers and brought about the founding of OUCH (UK).

The founding trustees were Mo and John Graham, Chris Willis, Michael O'Brien, Susi Nerici and Brenda Woodcock, who was also Treasurer. Without these people OUCH (UK) would not be what it is today. We owe all these people an enormous debt of gratitude for their tireless efforts in achieving what we have now, a well respected support group dedicated to offering help and guidance to sufferers and their supporters.

OUCH (UK) is a member of Headache UK, an umbrella organisation of headache charities.  Headache UK raise awareness of all severe headache conditions and add their voices to ours in the All Party Parliamentary Group on Headache Disorders.

Simon Fern and his Board of Directors at QDK for hosting of our first site and all the services and back-up provided to us free of charge.

Peter May for his invaluable help in rewriting and amending much of the content contained within this site.

Share This

© OUCH(uk) 2019 | email: info@ouchuk.org
Registered Charity No. 1091919 | Registered in England Company No. 04339368